LEED Green Associate Study Guide (Part 1 of Series)

This entry will focus on how the LEED rating systems are set up and the basic categories of credits. For a basic introduction to LEED, check this website.

The LEED Rating Systems are the sets of credits and categories that a LEED project team is aiming for. They are specific for the type of construction, like a new building would go for LEED for new construction, a school would go for LEED for Schools, a home would go for LEED for Homes.

Every rating system has the same set of categories, though the credits within them may be different.
The categories are:

  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy & Atmosphere
  • Materials & Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality
  • Locations and Linkages
  • Awareness & Education
  • Innovation in Design
  • Regional Priority

The different credits in each category may be weighted to be worth more points than other credits. Some credits allow for incremental points to be earned by how much is accomplished by the building. For example, a certain percentage decrease in water usage could result in 1 point, but by decreasing water usage by then next threshold percentage could result in 2 points.

The Energy & Atmosphere category’s credits have the most potential points to be earned.

That’s it for now. I’ll be posting more on this since I’m almost done with graduate school applications, but for more advanced notes, see my previous post.



View all posts by


5 Responses

  1. Online course: Making Green Buildings | science before breakfast says

    [...] have written a few times about LEED and green buildings here, here, and [...]

  2. LEED Green Associate Study Guide Outline and Notes: Day before the exam | science before breakfast says

    [...] For a very basic introduction to LEED, check out these two entries: Study Guide Part 1 Study Guide Part 2 More advanced parts to the study guide are on the [...]

  3. chewbear says

    That is pretty awesome! I would really love to see the building when it is finished.

  4. LEED Green Associate Study Guide (Part 2 of Series) | science before breakfast says

    [...] previous posts on this topic, Part 1 and more advanced notes. For a more in-depth look at LEED in action, check out the blog Real Life [...]

  5. Nat says

    This is really cool, Chewy! I’ve been getting more interested in LEED because Nintendo’s new building is going to have the Silver certification. I even heard that they’d have compost bins in the completed building–pretty spiffy!